“Growing Up Game” Brenda Peterson

January 25, 2007 at 1:52 am (Uncategorized)

Right after reading the first sentence I immediately thought when does this story take place?  Moose meet in exchange for half of your tuition?  Sure enough, the very next sentence read 1969.  Peterson brings up a lot of interesting points.  There is one point inparticular that reminds me of an experience that happened in my life.  The line that struck me is when it states, “I look up and saw the flensed body of a doe; it swung gently, slapping my face.  I felt then as i do even now when eating game: horror and awe and kinship.” (p.116).  If I was out in my garage engaged in pretend play and stood up and hit a dead deer that is hanging, I would scream and run out of there as fast as I could.  Being that my father was never a hunter or anyone in my family for that matter, that is not somehting I am used to.  If I was raised up around that type of life style then my reaction might be different.  I bring this quote up because it reminds me of an experince I had in high school when I worked at a pizza parlor.  My boss was an avid hunter.  During the winter time he would hang up three or four deer heads that he had preservered, I am not sure the technical name for it, in the restaurant’s dinning room.  When I would go out into the dinning room to deliver food or clear tables I would always feel as if the deer were staring at me.  When I had to walk under them to go into the back closet I thought the whole head was going to fall off of the wall and come crashing down on me.  I do not know why, but those heads really freaked me out.  My boss knew how uncomfortable they made me so everytime I went out to the dinning room he would look at me and laugh because he could see in my face how I would tense up.  I did not think it was funny at the time but now looking back I can see how watching me might have been some what amusing.           

3 Comments

  1. Amber said,

    i would like to know where i can get the information on the author’s tone, personality, purpose, and style of this story. if you help, that would be great.

    Thanks,
    Amber

  2. Beautiful said,

    no one cares.

  3. nouncnaky said,

    If you are a real estate professional, be really careful in dealing with KoRes Corp. in Weston Florida. Tulio Rodriguez & Monica Cataluna-Shand are shysters and look for anyway to steal ones customers. They attempt to steal your client by requesting their contact information and later contact them behind your back to get them to deal with them directly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

